Mission Impossible Ghost Protocol (No Spoilers)

Summary: Blamed for the terrorist bombing of the Kremlin, IMF operative Ethan Hunt is disavowed along with the rest of the agency when the President initiates “Ghost Protocol”. Left without any resources or backup, Ethan must find a way to clear his agency’s name and prevent another attack. To complicate matters further, Ethan is forced to embark on this mission with a team of fellow IMF fugitives whose personal motives he does not fully know. (Paramount Pictures)

I was pretty excited to see this movie come on the radar and even more excited when they announced the cast. Tom Cruise I could care less about, for me the Mission Impossible movies and TV show are about the supporting cast. So when I heard that both Simon Pegg and Jeremy Renner were in it I knew not even Tom Cruise could ruin this movie.

I could count on 1 hand movies that managed to make a decent sequel let alone a 3rd and 4th movie.  I really liked the first one and the 2 and 3 were declining a bit but still pretty fun to watch however this 4th outing knocked it out of the park for me. When most franchises are reinventing, rebooting of doing prequels JJ and his gang are pressing forward. This is in my opinion an investment in the fans of this movie franchise.  If they keep it up they might start having to have IMF conventions.

The story was enjoyable, having grown up in eighties and nineties it is right in my wheel house to think of the Russians as the bad guys. I found the pace of the movie well thought out with a good rhythm of action and levity. The action sequences are befitting of the previous 3 movies and are pretty exciting. I would say the main bad guy is a little long in the tooth to handle the beating he takes and because of that it detracts for the story and action sequences between him and hunt.

As for the characters Ethan Hunt’s Tom Cruise was his usually formulaic brooding action hero which works in this case. Where this movie shines is with Jeremy Renner and Simon Pegg. I think Simon Pegg is riot in everything he does but occasionally you see glimpse of not just humor but the ability to pull off anything. In this movie he goes from nerd to IMF field agent in a blink of an eye. I liked most of his dialog and banter sometime with himself was killing me. As for Jeremy Renner I am a fan. There has not been a single movie or show I did not enjoy that he has been in. If you are reading this you are only 3 degrees of separation from him as I work with his sister (not that I have ever met him). To be honest I could see a real passing of the torch from Tom Cruise to him as the primary movie focus if they make more sequels.  There are also rumors that he may be taking over for Matt Damon as Jason Bourne.

Metacritic rated this movie a 73 which seems a bit low to me as I would have put this in the mid 80 range.  I would include this in the must see category of 2011 but if money is tight DVD\BluRay should work.

Posted on December 31, 2011, in Movie Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

