Elementary

Elementary is the updating of Sherlock Holmes to the 21st century in New York. My first question is do we really need a new take on the intrepid detective? I have been enjoying the BBC version with Benedict Cumberbatch as Holmes and Martin Freeman as Watson. In this new version which stars Jonny Lee Miller as Holmes and Lucy Liu as Watson. So far in the pilot episode it has been standard Sherlock being smarter than everyone and not really being challenged. The thing it is missing is the science to back up his assertions. In establishing his character they are focusing on his drug use and recovery. So far John Lee Miller’s presence as Holmes has not resonated with me as a strong character. In fact I am finding him annoying and not in the cool House MD way. As always Lucy Liu does a fine job acting as long as you ignore she is trying to play Watson. Girl or guy Watson does not matter to me; all I need from a Watson is good banter without it the dynamics are off.  If there is any sexual tension between them it is over for me.

Following the Twitter feed on the show, the general consensus is it is not a good as the BBC version. People had problems with the writing expressing it was too simple and lacked imagination. I am feeling the same way about this latest iteration.

Will I continue watching? I think so for a couple of episodes but I doubt it has legs to make it more than 1 season.

What do you think about the show?

http://youtu.be/YcFHeTaS9ew

 

Posted on September 28, 2012, in Current TV. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

