Elysium

I guess I should start out by saying I loved District 9 so I went into the theater with the highest of hopes.  This movie delivered in every way I had hoped.

Set in the year 2154, where the very wealthy live on a man-made space station while the rest of the population resides on a ruined Earth, a man takes on a mission that could bring equality to the polarized worlds. – IMDB

The plot is simple enough to follow with the right amount of character depth and story development to keep the viewer interested but without a huge investment in back story. We know there is Elysium but not how they created it.  The pacing for the plot is fair but at times I found myself not caring about the flashbacks when Max was a kid. I know it was to provide character depth and emotional content but I could have done with just a little less.

As far as the setting, just like in District 9 there was that stark contrast of the slums of Earth with the dirt and grit. A place where everyone is smudged by poverty.  This allows for the almost jarring contrast of those that live in a perfect smuge free space station. With its bright and crisp lighting and lush garden estates. The special effects are on par with any big budget film and are enjoyable to watch.

I think that Matt Damon is an incredible actor and and he can bring any role to life. The Max character was conflicted but not overly complicated. Which allowed me to experience the conflict without the plot pacing slow down to establish complexity.  I think that Sharlto Copley as Kruger was so over the top as the sleeper Elysium agent that it was like riding a roller coaster. It felt like it was over to soon and you just wanted to get in line again.  Jody Foster as Delacourt the administrator of Elysium was a brilliant casting decision. Her performance was pragmatically icy and wonderfully driven.

Being I am a huge science fiction fan and loved District 9 I would highly recommend this movie.

Posted on August 23, 2013, in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. We like it

Leave a Reply

